Member of the Tribe

by Rabbi Wendy Spears

I am saddened and fearful each moment due to the current situation in Israel. Hamas, the Palestinian terrorist organization which controls the Gaza Strip, is firing rockets at civilian targets in Israel. For my own family members, the Israeli people, and the beautiful country itself, I am anxious.

It’s challenging to feel connected to Israel if you’ve never been there. As a first-year graduate student, I lived in Jerusalem. It was an opportunity to see the places about which I’d only read, as well as experience life in all its complexity. Good thing I took Hebrew classes while at UCLA; I was able to communicate a little bit with my neighbors and the local shopkeepers. My Hebrew language skills greatly improved over the course of that year.

I enjoyed riding the bus from my 4th floor walk-up apartment to campus, buying fresh flowers and the English language newspaper The Jerusalem Post on Fridays, and walking all over the city by myself without fear of crime. All those soldiers with guns are there to protect civilians. And wow! Israelis certainly know what to do with a vegetable. It was easier to be a vegetarian in Israel than anywhere else I’d been before that.
When many of my clients talk about being Jewish today, they refer to holiday celebrations at Hanukkah and Passover, going to funerals at Jewish cemeteries, and attending bar and bat mitzvah ceremonies – either their own or those of family and friends. They rarely talk about some of the aspects that continue to engage me in Judaism: stories which express our values and history, new understandings of keeping kosher (Jewish way of doing and being), connections with Jewish people and places where we’ve lived over the course of our peoplehood. Wherever I go, whether at home in Los Angeles or traveling, I search out Jewish people, places, and experiences.

Heed these words from my colleague Rabbi Aaron Panken: “If you have plans to be [in Israel], come. If you do not yet have plans to be [in Israel], make them soon. . . Sign up now to reserve your place for a trip that will expose you to everything [Israel] is now and is becoming. If you cannot spend time in the near future, then it is incumbent upon you to become informed – read Haaretz or The Jerusalem Post, and try to stay on top of events as they develop. Only with a long-term commitment to reading regularly can one hope to become knowledgeable enough to understand the many aspects of Israel’s complex mélange of culture and faith, memory, and history.”

A sense of peoplehood is essential to being Jewish. This happens best by seeking out just those experiences that I’ve mentioned in the preceding section. And while it may seem unsafe to visit Israel at this particular moment of Hamas rocket fire, this situation will eventually pass. I encourage all my readers to make it a priority to visit Israel, either for the first time or again. It will help to connect you more strongly to what it means to be Jewish.

Rabbi Wendy Spears is a community rabbi in Los Angeles. Find her at http://www.rabbiwendy.com
#Israel #Jewish #peoplehood
http://blogs.timesofisrael.com/top-ten-questions-answers-about-the-current-action-in-israel/

Leave a Reply

