I Am A Jew

Magen David Lacesby Rabbi Wendy Spears

I’ve been listening to the BBC radio news in regard to the terrorist murders in France. I am sickened by what has happened, both in the violence itself and the aftermath. In particular, I heard an interview with a Jewish woman in Paris who attended the rally at which the world leaders were present (sadly, no officials from the Obama administration other than the U.S. Ambassador to France). As this woman was standing in the street, the people around her were talking about why they had come to the rally. When it came to be her turn, she also said she was there because of the Jews who were murdered at the kosher market. As soon as the words came out of her mouth that she was Jewish herself, the people around her backed away from her as if she had the plague and didn’t say another word to her.

At the Golden Globes Awards ceremony on television this past Sunday evening, several of the winners talked about the murders of the journalists at Charlie Hebdo with a voice of support: Je Suis Charlie. None of them added Je Suis Juif – I am a Jew. Anti-Semitism is alive and dangerous in Europe. No one seems to be as concerned about that as they are about the murdered journalists. The four Jews who were murdered at the kosher market were buried in Israel. And French Jews are immigrating to Israel at double the rate that they did last year. The situation is indeed dangerous for Jews in France.

I also heard yesterday on the radio an interview with a German woman who was reflecting on the murders. When the interviewer asked her about German education on the Holocaust and current efforts to rein in anti-Semitism, she dismissed the question as unimportant to the issues happening today. The interviewer pressed her and she replied that World War II ended 70 years ago and had no bearing on her life or the situation in France. Anti-Semitism seems again to be part of the normal social landscape in Europe, and a minor topic in the minds of Europeans.

As a Jew, I am (of course) sensitive to anti-Semitism more than most of the Europeans being interviewed seem to be. I consider myself blessed, by the accident of my great-grandparents immigration to the U.S.A. instead of Western Europe, to be safe from anti-Semitism today. While the situation in the U.S. isn’t nearly as dangerous as it is in Europe, anti-Semitism is alive here. There were several incidents on college campuses in the fall, including the arrest of students in Ohio protesting at a student senate meeting about a resolution to boycott, divest from, and sanction Israel. Under the guise of anti-Zionism, Jews are at risk. There are still moderate to high levels of security at American Jewish institutions all over the country. Vandalism of Jewish institutions and businesses has little to do with Israel and much to do with hatred of Jews. French Jews have been advised to avoid Jewish institutions and businesses altogether for their own safety. I’m thankful that isn’t the situation for me, and I pray that it won’t be.

In Jewish morning worship each weekday, there is a specific prayer that thanks God for making me a Jew. I continue to pray this with sincerity, especially in a fearful situation. I strongly believe that Judaism brings light and blessing to the world. I will continue to speak up against hatred of all kinds. What happens to me and my people easily spills over onto other minority groups. None of us are safe and secure on our own. We need the support and love of our entire citzenry for our society to be safe.

Rabbi WendyRabbi Wendy Spears is a community rabbi in Los Angeles. Find her at http://www.rabbiwendy.com.

2 thoughts on “I Am A Jew

  1. Thank you for this…As a Jew in the UK, I’d be very interested to hear what you think on the UK situation re anti-Semitism; it feels a little ‘between’ for me….not USA, but not European either(though the UK is a member of the European Union, which is a whole other kettle of fish) I don’t consider myself European. Im a Scot, Im British….but not European. The whole thing worries me greatly. My gret grandparents came from Russia and Poland in the late 19th century; my great uncle Reuben fought in the 1st world war, was badly gassed; Im the only one left, now, and I see the rise of it all in Europe again, and it scares me.
    So, what’s your take on where the UK sits/stands in the midst of all this? I’d be really grateful to get an objective opinion….
    Alex

  2. Excellent points. Check out France’s Prime Minister Vall’s speech about anti semitism. It is so important for world leaders to stand up against this hatred towards Jews.

Leave a Reply

